The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of members with various backgrounds, including activists, academics, professionals working in the public or private sector, and representatives of the Rafto Staff and Prize Committee. 

The Board members work without remuneration. The Board is independent and self-recruiting. In addition to the legally defined work, the Board provides the final approval of candidates for the Rafto Prize nominated by the Rafto Prize committee.

2017 Members: 

Martin Paulsen - Chairperson
Senior Advisor,  Norwegian Centre for International Cooperation in Education, SIU
Phone: +47 992 55 965

Anne Horn - Deputy chairperson
Judge, Bergen District Court

Harald S. Kobbe
Lawyer, Kluge Advokatfirma DA

Lise Rakner - Chair of Rafto Prize Committee 
Professor, Department of Comparative Politics at University of Bergen and  senior researcher, Christian Michelsen  Institute (CMI). 

Siri Gloppen 
Research Director, Christian Michelsen Research Institute (CMI) and Professor at the Department of Comparative Politics, University of Bergen

Anders Skjævestad
CEO, DNB Life Insurance

Siri Strandenes
Professor, Norwegian School of Economics, NHH. 

Liv Unni Stuhaug
Project Coordinator, Rafto Foundation