The Board of Directors

Mandate and Board Members

The Board of Directors consists of members with various backgrounds, including activists, academics, professionals working in the public or private sector, and representatives of the Rafto Staff and Prize Committee. The Board members work without remuneration. The Board is independent and self-recruiting. In addition to the legally defined work, the Board provides the final approval of candidates for the Rafto Prize nominated by the Rafto Prize committee.

2020 Members:

Martin Paulsen - Chairperson
Senior Advisor, DIKU.
Phone: +47 992 55 965
E-mail: martpaulsen(at)

Anne Horn - Deputy chairperson
Judge, Bergen District Court.

Line Alice Ytrehus - Chair of Rafto Prize Committee
Professor, Department of Intercultural Studies, NLA University College.

Lovise Aalen

Research Director, Christian Michelsen Research Institute (CMI).

Anders Skjævestad
CEO, DNB Life Insurance.

Siri Strandenes
Professor, Norwegian School of Economics, NHH.

Anders Waage Nilsen
Design strategist and business developer.

Laila Bokhari
Kistefos fellow/MPA 2019 Harvard Kennedy School of Government.

Iver Ørstadvik
Senior Advisor, Rafto Foundation.

Ingrid Malene Liavik (observer)
Leader of Friends of the Rafto Foundation.